Booster Club Software: What You Actually Need in 2026
19 mins read

Booster Club Software: What You Actually Need in 2026

Almost every booster club product is sold on an annual contract, somewhere between $299 and $850 a year. The subscription isn’t the number that matters. The number that matters is the cut taken out of every dollar you raise, and four of the ten below don’t publish it.

We read every vendor’s own pricing page on 5 September 2026. A club moving $40,000 a year through concessions, spirit wear, dues and fundraisers can pay anywhere from about $800 to more than $3,000 in fees on identical activity, depending only on which product it signed up for.

Here’s what booster club software really costs, what a booster club actually needs it to do, and how to work out your own number before you commit to a year.

The five jobs booster club software has to do

Booster clubs aren’t small nonprofits and they aren’t sports teams. They’re volunteer run organizations with real money moving through them, a board that changes every year, and a membership made up of parents who are already overloaded. The software has five jobs.

  1. Collect money in several shapes. Dues, spirit wear, concessions, event tickets, fundraiser pledges and straight donations are five different transactions, and a lot of tools only do two of them well.
  2. Tell the treasurer who has paid. Not a payout total. A list, by family, that reconciles.
  3. Reach every parent. Not post to a group and hope. The parents who most need to see the volunteer request are the ones who never open email.
  4. Sign people up to do things. Concession shifts, chaperones, setup and teardown, the trailer.
  5. Hand over cleanly in June. Next year’s board shouldn’t inherit a spreadsheet and a personal Venmo account.

Almost every product below does two or three of these well. Very few do all five, which is why so many booster clubs end up running three tools at once and paying fees on all of them.

The fee is the price

A $650 a year subscription is a fixed, predictable cost. A 7.9% cut of your fundraiser isn’t, and it will be larger. This is the single most common budgeting mistake booster clubs make, so it’s worth putting the published rates side by side before anything else.

ToolPlatform feeCard processingPublishes it
Givebacks, store and POS1.05% + $0.652.9% + $0.30 StripeYes, in full
Givebacks, percent-model fundraiser7.5%2.9% + $0.30 StripeYes, in full
Givebacks, direct donations0%1.99% + $0.49 StripeYes, in full
Cheddar Up, free planNot broken out3.95% + $0.95, all-inclusiveYes
Cheddar Up, paid plansNot broken out3.59% + $0.59, all-inclusiveYes
SignUpGeniusNot broken out5% + $0.50, composition not statedYes
PTOfficeNot broken out7.9%, or a tip jar option at no cost, composition not statedYes
Kannect, Starter and Launch2%Stripe standard, 2.9% + $0.30Yes
Booster HubNot publishedNot publishedNo
Membership ToolkitNot publishedNot publishedNo
TeamSnapNot publishedNot publishedNo
Sports Connect$3 per transactionNot publishedPartly
Read off each vendor own pricing or help pages, September 2026. Where a vendor quotes one all-inclusive number and does not separate its own fee from processing, the platform fee column says so rather than guessing at a split.

Bank transfer is the column most clubs never look at and the one that saves the most on big collections. Cheddar Up charges 1.95% with a $1.00 minimum on its paid plans and does not offer eCheck on the free plan at all, and the Stripe ACH rate that applies under Kannect is 0.8% capped at $5.00 per transaction, which on a $200 registration is a dollar sixty instead of six. Most of the other tools here do not publish a bank transfer rate, so ask before you assume you have one.

Two things stand out. Givebacks publishes the most complete fee table in this category, including the uncomfortable one: its percent-model fundraiser takes 7.5% before the card processor takes its share. That’s transparency, and it’s more than most vendors here offer. And the four products that publish nothing are, between them, the ones most heavily marketed to booster clubs.

10 booster club software tools at a glance

ToolEntry pricePriced byPlatform feeFree trialPublishes pricing
Kannect$29/mo, or $276/yrPeople, 500 on the entry plan2%7 days, card requiredYes, in full
Cheddar UpFree, or $15/mo paid yearlyFlat plans, by feature setNot broken out, 3.59% + $0.59 all-inclusive on paid plansFree planYes, in full
SignUpGeniusFree, or $107.89/yrFlat plans, by feature set5% + $0.50, composition not statedFree planYes
PTOffice$299 to $699/yrFlat plans, by feature set7.9%, or a tip jar option at no cost, composition not stated30-day money backYes
Givebacks$499 to $599/yrFlat plans, by feature set0% to 7.5% by model, plus Stripe, published in fullNot publishedYes, in full
Membership Toolkit$550 to $1,150/yrPer organization, not by member countNot publishedYes, length not publishedYes, in full
Booster Hub$650 to $850/yrPer club, by activity typeNot published45 daysYes, in full
TeamSnapNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedFree to startNo
Sports ConnectNot publishedNot published$3 per transaction, card rate not publishedNot publishedPartly
RaiseRightFree to startNo subscription, gift card rebate modelNot applicable, rebate modelFreeYes
Read off each vendor own pricing page, September 2026. Platform fees only. Every platform here that takes card payments does so through a processor such as Stripe, whose US standard rate is 2.9% + $0.30, and that is charged on top unless a vendor states its rate is all-inclusive.

Booster club software, one by one

Booster Hub

The only product on this list built for booster clubs and nothing else, which shows in the vocabulary. Standard is $650 a year for a single activity club. Pro is $850 a year and is aimed at athletic booster clubs and large band programs. A Teams module is $250 a year on top, and a Bands inventory module is another $250. SMS is $0.02 a message, with 500 free a month on Pro. The trial is 45 days, which is the longest here.

The gap. No payment processing fee is published anywhere on the pricing or features pages. For a product sold to organizations whose whole reason for existing is moving money, that’s the number you should ask for first, in writing. The onboarding package price is also not published.

Givebacks, formerly MemberHub

Pro is $499 a year and Premium is $599 a year, with a Partner tier for districts. Unlimited email up to 50,000 contacts. There’s no monthly option.

Why it’s worth a look. Givebacks publishes a complete fee table by transaction type, which nobody else in this category does. If you run a tip-model fundraiser the platform takes 0%, and direct donations are 0% platform plus a discounted 1.99% + $0.49 nonprofit Stripe rate. If you run a percent-model fundraiser the platform takes 7.5%. Knowing that in advance lets you choose the fundraiser model deliberately instead of discovering it at payout.

Membership Toolkit

Essential $550 a year, Premium $850, Concierge $1,150 with three professional services and an onboarding conference included. Texting is $2.50 a month plus $0.02 a message, with 250 free texts a year on Essential and 500 on Premium and Concierge. Annual billing only. Aimed at PTAs, PTOs, booster clubs, HOAs, scouts and sports teams.

The gap. Payment processing rates aren’t published. The features page mentions keeping 95% of what’s donated for peer to peer fundraising, which implies 5% there, but no card or ACH rates appear anywhere.

PTOffice

Simple Site $299 a year with one administrator. Shared $499 a year with multiple admins, membership management, email, volunteer sign-ups and directories. Private $699 a year with a dedicated installation and custom domain. Annual only, with a 30 day money back guarantee rather than a trial.

Worth knowing. Payment processing is a flat 7.9% deducted from funds raised, or you can use a tip jar model at no cost. That 7.9% is published plainly, which is more than most competitors do, but it’s high: on $20,000 raised it’s $1,580.

Cheddar Up

The most popular way for a booster club to start collecting money without buying a platform. Free Forever costs nothing, with up to 5 items and 1 form per page and unlimited pages. Pro is $15 a month paid annually and Team is $35 a month paid annually.

Card fees are 3.95% + $0.95 on the free plan and 3.59% + $0.59 on the paid plans, with eCheck at 1.95% and a $1.00 minimum on paid plans only. By default the payer covers the fee, which is why so many clubs like it.

Where it stops. Cheddar Up collects money extremely well and doesn’t do membership, announcements or a directory. It’s a payment page, not an organization.

SignUpGenius

The default for concession shifts and chaperone rosters. Basic is free with unlimited sign-up pages. Silver is $11.99 a month or $107.89 a year, Gold is $29.99 or $269.89 with 10 extra admins and 10,000 emails, Platinum is $59.99 or $539.89 with 20 extra admins.

Payment collection is 5% of the money collected plus $0.50 a transaction, with no monthly fee for that feature.

Where it stops. It’s a sign-up tool. It has no membership records and no dues.

TeamSnap

Excellent for a team: rosters, schedules, availability and game day chat. Single teams start free with paid upgrades.

The gap. No prices are published for Clubs and Leagues, and none of the TeamSnap+ plan prices appear on the site either. The payments page describes transparent processing rates without publishing a rate. Everything routes to a conversation.

Worth being clear about. TeamSnap is built around a team, not around a booster club that funds several teams and has its own membership, board and treasury.

Sports Connect, formerly Blue Sombrero

Part of Stack Sports, aimed at youth sports leagues. The only figure published is a $3 service fee per registration transaction, described as per transaction rather than per player per activity. Card processing is paid by the league at a rate that isn’t published, and the full price list is sent to boards rather than posted.

RaiseRight

Gift card fundraising rather than club administration. Free to start, no minimum order. The site says there are nominal transaction fees that vary by how your program orders and pays, and that online shopping, local dining and travel bookings carry no fees. No percentages are published.

It sits alongside whatever you use to run the club rather than replacing it.

8to18

Athletic department software sold to schools rather than to booster clubs. No pricing is published anywhere reachable and the pricing and solutions pages are blocked to automated retrieval. Everything routes to a demo.

A worked example: the $40,000 booster club

Take a booster club with 220 families that moves $40,000 a year: $8,000 in dues, $12,000 in spirit wear and concessions, $14,000 in a fundraiser and $6,000 in donations. Here’s what the published rates do to that, using card payments throughout.

ScenarioSubscriptionPlatform fee on $40,000Card processingApproximate total
Cheddar Up, paid plan$180$1,908, all-inclusiveIncluded in the rate$2,088
Kannect, Starter$276$800$1,400 Stripe$2,476
SignUpGenius$107.89$2,400Not stated whether included$2,508 if included, about $3,908 if not
PTOffice$499$3,160Not stated whether included$3,659 if included, about $5,059 if not
Givebacks, tip-model fundraiser$4990% on the fundraiser, 1.05% + $0.65 on the store2.9% + $0.30 Stripe, published in fullDepends on your mix
Illustrative arithmetic on published rates, assuming $40,000 collected across 800 payments of $50. Stripe US standard card rate of 2.9% + $0.30 is applied wherever a vendor states processing is charged separately. Cheddar Up states its rate is all-inclusive and passes fees to the payer by default. Do this calculation with your own numbers.

The point isn’t which row wins. It’s that the gap between the top and bottom rows is more than $1,700 a year on identical activity, and none of it’s visible if you compare subscription prices alone. Our free Stack Audit Calculator will run the same arithmetic on whatever you’re using now.

Six booster club software questions to ask before you sign

  1. What’s the total percentage on a $50 card payment, all in? Platform fee plus processor fee, as one number. Ask for it in writing.
  2. Is there a cheaper rate for bank transfer, and can families use it? ACH at 1.95% versus a card at 3.95% is real money on a $14,000 fundraiser.
  3. Can the payer cover the fee? Several products default to this. It changes your economics completely.
  4. How many board members get admin access at this price? A booster club board is usually six to ten people.
  5. Is it annual only? Most of this category is. If your board turns over in June, a January renewal is awkward.
  6. What happens to the data when the treasurer changes? Ask specifically about export format and payment history.

Where Kannect fits

Kannect is our product, so check the pricing page yourself. It’s a community engagement platform for membership organizations, and a booster club is one, even if it doesn’t call itself that.

Memberships, properly. One membership type with multiple pricing tiers on every plan, or multiple membership types each with their own tiers on the higher plans. Custom application forms, manual or automatic approval, and a welcome flow that drops a new member straight into the conversation. Discounts and renewals are built in, so nobody’s tracking who gets the early-bird rate in a spreadsheet.

And the rest of the organization. A member directory with unlimited listings on every plan, and multiple directories side by side on the higher plans for sponsors, alumni, partners or your team. Groups and programs for chapters, committees and cohorts, each with its own conversation and analytics. A people database with statuses for member, alumni, donor, staff, parent and student, which members keep current themselves from the app. Events, broadcast email, a community website and a member app.

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyPeopleAdminsEmails/moPlatform fee
Starter$29$27650035,0002%
Launch$69$6602,000520,0002%
Growth$149$1,4285,0001050,0001.5%
Scale$299$2,86815,00025150,0001%
Annual billing takes 20% off the monthly rate. Read from kannect.co/pricing, 5 September 2026.

The part that matters most day to day is reach. Every opted-in member receives every announcement. No algorithm decides who sees it, and there’s no per-contact overage bill for sending it. Payments run on Stripe. You connect your bank once, and money from events, memberships, programs and donations lands in your own account, usually within three business days. Kannect never holds your money. Registered nonprofits pay 0% Kannect fee on donations.

Three things matter for a booster club specifically. There’s a monthly option, so you’re not committing to a year before your first season. Membership tiers handle the thing every club runs into eventually, where a family membership, a business sponsor and a single supporter are three different prices for three different things. And discounts and renewals are built in, so the early-bird rate and the second-child discount aren’t a note in the treasurer’s spreadsheet.

A quick tour of Kannect: memberships, events, payments and announcements in one place.

Most organizations start with one job, usually events, payments or the directory, and bring the rest across as they need it. Setup is self-serve at no cost. If you’d rather we build the account for you, that’s an optional one time service starting at $150.

If you also run a PTA or work with the school directly, we write separately for K-12 and PTAs and for nonprofits.

Frequently asked questions

What’s the best booster club software?

It depends on which of the five jobs you most need solved. Booster Hub is the only product built for booster clubs specifically. Cheddar Up is the easiest way to collect money. SignUpGenius is the standard for volunteer shifts. Givebacks publishes the clearest fee table. Kannect covers members, dues, events and announcements in one system with a monthly option.

How much does booster club software cost?

Published prices in 2026 run from free to $1,150 a year. Most dedicated products are annual only and sit between $499 and $850 a year: Givebacks $499 to $599, Membership Toolkit $550 to $1,150, Booster Hub $650 to $850, PTOffice $299 to $699. The subscription is usually smaller than the payment fees, so budget both.

What payment processing fee should a booster club expect?

Published rates in this category range widely. PTOffice publishes 7.9% on funds raised. SignUpGenius publishes 5% plus $0.50. Cheddar Up publishes 3.59% plus $0.59 on paid plans and 1.95% for eCheck. Kannect publishes a 2% platform fee alongside Stripe processing. Several popular products publish no rate at all, so ask for the all-in percentage on a $50 payment in writing.

Is there free booster club software?

Partly. Cheddar Up has a permanently free plan and SignUpGenius has a free Basic tier, but both charge a higher payment fee on the free plan and neither handles membership records or dues. RaiseRight is free to start for gift card fundraising. There’s no free product that covers dues, communication, volunteers and the treasurer’s records together.

Do we need booster club software if we already use TeamSnap?

Usually yes, because they solve different problems. TeamSnap is built around a team: roster, schedule, availability and game day. A booster club has its own membership, board, treasury and fundraising that sit above the teams it funds. TeamSnap also doesn’t publish prices for its Clubs and Leagues product.

Can we switch booster club software mid-year?

You can, but most of this category bills annually with no monthly option, so check your renewal date before you decide. Export your family list, payment history and any open sign-ups while the old account is still active. Where possible, time the change to your season break rather than to the middle of a dues or fundraiser cycle.

Where these booster club software prices came from

Every booster club software price and payment fee above came off the vendor’s own page on 5 September 2026.